Hybrid View

possible mistake!

hello! as it is my first attempt at growing something from seed, I have made a mistake and planted the seeds too deep in the soil. a few days later, i mixed the soil, trying to bring the part in which the seeds were, up to the top. i have four different seeds: a pot with parsley which is starting to germinate just fine, a pot of daisies which are also starting to grow, a pot of red peppers and a pot of night flower seeds. the last two are not showing any signs of growth. is it a lost cause for the night flowers and peppers, or should i attempt to mix the soil once again? thanks in advance!

Hi Stevegat,

If you still have the seed packets take a look to see how many days to germination. Once you know how long before you should see growth, give them an extra week before giving up on them. I don't know what 'night flowers' are. I've never heard that term but I'm wondering if you might be growing moonflower aka Ipomoea alba. Do you have the botanical name of this plant? Is this a vine that has white flowers that bloom at night? If so, these seeds can take a long time to germinate, especially if you didn't scarify (nick) the seed to aid in germination.

Newt

Blog Entries
    sounds like moonflower... sometimes you have to soak them for 24 hours to. I never tried to do red peppers, I have rosemary and have discovered why it is easier to just buy them,lol. I have my tomatoes beginning, the basil has popped but the cilantro has not... I will try that again next week to be sure to give them all the time they need...

It's been approximately 2 to 3 weeks since I potted the seeds. The "night flower" was a direct translation from Greek, I guess you would know it as "marvel of Peru", or "clavillia". I think it does need more time to germinate. Thanks for the help!