Hybrid View

New greenhouse, starting seed

Hi everyone, just joined the forum and looking forward to learning and sharing. So, here's my situation:

I just finished buliding my greenhouse (julianna compact 12 and I live in zone 7 ). I'm very new to all this.. It has automatic venting, and a fairly efficient electric heater installed. I used to start seeds in my basement (about 60-65 f during feb-march), and I'm wondering about temperature fluctuations in the green house. During the day the temps are quite warm....up to 85f if I don't open the doors and the sun is shining; but at night I'm heating to 55f. Is this temperature fluctuation to great? or should I average the temps when considering seed needs. Peppers for example like 70+....should I just bring them inside or will they be fine in the greenhouse with my temp fluctuations. Thanks for any help.

While I can not answer all questions in this regard, I do know when I was living in the Willamette Valley and the coast here in Oregon, the temps also ranged a lot, depending on the weather. I always started all my seeds inside the greenhouse with great success, but I started tomatoes, peppers and flowers only. They seemed to like the warmth as far as "popping" in a short period of time. What you really need to worry about is after they sprout, as too hot they will wilt. I had an automatic vent wich did help some, but I did open the door when the weather was suppose to be warm because it would cook the new plants.

Hope this helps some.

Hello,